God is Love: We are loved by God

So here goes,

The first weeks class of each year of Religious Education starts out (regardless of curriculum in use) explaining to the children that

God is Love

and

We are loved by God

and

We are called/ chosen to share that love with others.

love this coloring page

Here’s the thing about first graders,

– the last time some have been to church was at their (infant) baptism

-most don’t know which church they belong to

-most(though not all) have had little experience being told that there is a God that loves them

and sadly

-many come from broken homes where love does not abound

So as a catechist we are often the first and sometimes only person to tell these children they are loved and there is purpose in their lives and they are important.

an easy way is to on a circle(paper plate sized, and on card stock print the following

I am Blest

(name)

God Loves Me

Each child should fill out their own and decorate with their favorite colors then I have the children stand in a circle and read it out loud.

Next I go around and say a small prayer and thank God for each child(calling them by name)

Then we talk about ways we can share Gods love with others

-Being Kind

-Being Helpful

-Being Polite

(etc let the kids brainstorm)

and I end the lesson with God loves.(name)…God loves..(name)..God loves.(name)…pointing to each child(plus this helps me get to know the names of the children in the class faster

at some point in the year(usually not the first day I read to the children from the book

The Butterfly Effect by Andy Andrews

He also has a children’s book

“The Boy Who Changed the World” but I feel its a little long for the attention span of the first graders so I use various pages of “The Butterfly Effect” and read it to them or I leave out some of the story of the “The Boy Who Changed the World” 

But if your class has a long attention span by all means read the book!

Front Cover

for more lessons check out my page on Scope and Sequence, I will be adding more as the year progresses

Peace to you in Christ

About ellasurreau

I am a first grade religious education catechist I have been teaching for 20 years I have a BA in Religious Studies I have continued taking classes in religious studies since graduating. I grew up Methodist, and became catholic after marrying.
This entry was posted in bible, christianity and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to God is Love: We are loved by God

  1. Pingback: books for a religious education teacher to read? | ellasurreaublog

Leave a Reply

