Mary and Jonah, two who said yes…what will you say?

 

This week in religious ed the curriculum has us talking once again about mary(not sure why I personally think this should have been covered in october…but I didn’t write the curriculum)

so the focus is now on

Saying YES to God.

So for this lesson (it can really be done in any order)

I tend to talk Mary first.

Mary said YES to God.

Mary agreed to be the mother of Jesus.

The mother of our Savior, our Messiah(Christ, in greek)

What an awesome gift and responsibility.

I’ve talked about Mary before

See this Post: Mary

so lets spend a minute on Jonah

check out the bible passage on bible gateway

Jonah

and don’t forget to read the second page

But if you want the short of it here it is:

 

Jonah a Jewish believer of God

was told by God to go to Ninevah and preach to the people about God

first he said NO

then

a great storm came to the sea he was on(in a boat of course)

and the rest of the crew threw him over board and he was swallowed by a great fish(we often say whale)

while in the whale he had a change of heart (can we have a change of heart? this is a good discussion point for the kids)

Jonah changed his answer, and he said YES

and the song

 

 

So??

What do you say?

About ellasurreau

I am a first grade religious education catechist I have been teaching for 20 years I have a BA in Religious Studies I have continued taking classes in religious studies since graduating. I grew up Methodist, and became catholic after marrying.
This entry was posted in bible, christianity and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mary and Jonah, two who said yes…what will you say?

  1. Pingback: Leave what you have and follow me, wait you want me to do what?? | ellasurreaublog

  2. Pingback: Mary, Mother of God or wait a minute I wasn’t brought up catholic what does this mean? | ellasurreaublog

Leave a Reply

