Bible songs for the singer in you, what are you waiting for…SING

Telling a story is one thing but sharing a catchy tune with your class..brings a whole new sensory side to the bible.

(you sing if you can or show a video or buy a cd if you can’t)

I grew up on

Wee Sing Bible songs

Wee Sing Bible Songs

we did ‘t have the book but the songs contained in this collection are songs I learned growing up in Methodist Sunday school.

Songs about:

Zacheus (the tax collector who climbed a tree to see Jesus)

Jonah(who was swallowed by a whale and then said yes to God)

David(the shepherd boy who slew goliath)

Deep and Wide(a song about Gods love)(on youtube this one is a good one for learning it)

I get no  money for anything I mention in  my blogs they are merely things I enjoy and find usefull

then from youtube

the following songs:

The Wiseman built his house upon the rock(can have sign language added)

Only a boy named David(again can use hand motions to give interest to the song)

This Little Light of  Mine

(you can look this up on youtube if you need melody the wording and order of verses I prefer is below)

1.This little light of mine

I’m gonna let it shine

This little light of mine

I’m gonna let it shine

This little light of mine

I’m gonna let it shine

let it shine

let it shine

let it shine

(the rest of the verses proceed in the same manner)

2.Jesus gave it to me

I’m gonna let it shine….

3.Everywhere I go

I’ m gonna let it shine….

4. Hide it under a bushel NO

I’m gonna let it shine…..

5. Won’t let anyone (make blowing sound) it out

I’m gonna let it shine….

———–

Don’t forget the traditional

Jesus Loves me(this I know)

The B I B L E(yes thats the book for me)

There are more songs out there than the above listed

but I’ll save those for another day.

Just remember the key to teaching children is that they don’t all respond in the same manner

some may remember more from hearing you read the story

others may like coloring pages

but bringing music into the classroom(whether by you singing or sharing a video) gives them one more way to remember the lesson.

After all isn’t that what we are called to do, to be disciples to the children we teach.

We are called to share the good news.

So…what are you waiting for…go out and share!

About ellasurreau

I am a first grade religious education catechist I have been teaching for 20 years I have a BA in Religious Studies I have continued taking classes in religious studies since graduating. I grew up Methodist, and became catholic after marrying.
This entry was posted in bible, christianity and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

