The Catechism of the Catholic Church…or….What Catholics Really Believe!

It seems like these days

I keep running into people

who are just like me

well…

just like I was

prior to being confirmed Catholic

full of preconceived

notions,  some true, some completely untrue

about what the Catholic Church believes

 

Just because you are Catholic

or

Just because you have a few friends that are Catholic

you don’t necessarily know what the official “Catholic” teaching is on a topic.

I had many misconceptions growing up and perhaps you do too.

The worst thing is …..is that it is many Catholics(uneducated in the true catechism of the Catholic church) that perpetuate the many myths, mysteries and misunderstandings about the beliefs(doctrine) of the Church.

So…just what is the Catechism of the Catholic Church?

The United States Council of Catholic Bishops even have it available for free…online.

catechism-of-the-catholic-church

Do you want to know what the Catholic Church really says about

the Bible?

The Nicene Creed? as basis for beliefs of Catholicism

The Life of Jesus?

Mary?(and the catholic devotion to, NOT worship of)

Prayer?

modern “Objections to Prayer”?

The Our Father?

The Summary of the whole Gospel(the good news)?

of Catholocism…. I’ve studied enough to know….there’s more I can learn.

and if this post helps dispel some of the misconceptions of the catholic church for even one person

it is the work of God

and I am grateful.

Amen

About ellasurreau

I am a first grade religious education catechist I have been teaching for 20 years I have a BA in Religious Studies I have continued taking classes in religious studies since graduating. I grew up Methodist, and became catholic after marrying.
This entry was posted in bible, christianity, prayer and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

