St.Francis, of Assisi : my classroom’s patron saint

Well I have to admit, when it came time to pick a classroom saint this year I wasn’t very christian

I knew who I wanted

didn’t have to think it over

or read the bios

I quickly grabbed

the picture of St. Francis of Assisi

Before I was Catholic, before I even knew much about Saints. I heard his prayer…in song form

Make me a Channel of your Peace

so beautiful

those words

reminding us

to just as Jesus would, put other first

to not seek love, as much as we love others

and from the voices of the innocent

An article on the stories surrounding St. Francis Assisi

Interesting biography on Francis

and straight from the vatican

AUSPICATO CONCESSUM
ENCYCLICAL OF POPE LEO XIII
ON ST. FRANCIS OF ASSISI

About ellasurreau

I am a first grade religious education catechist I have been teaching for 20 years I have a BA in Religious Studies I have continued taking classes in religious studies since graduating. I grew up Methodist, and became catholic after marrying.
This entry was posted in bible, christianity, prayer and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

