What I believe: So be it. Amen.

So as to leave no doubts to my beliefs

Here is what I believe:

about the Bible:

I believe the Bible is the inspired word of god passed down to humans and recorded by humans

that there are different types of literature in the bible, from songs, to stories, to poetry, history, lineages…etc…

about God

God created the universe, that is God created everything

God has always been, is now and will always be

John 1:1

New International Version (NIV)

The Word Became Flesh

1 In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God.

God is our father

and as such

we are all brothers and sisters under God

we are all part of the family of God

those who have been taught the Gospels and those who have yet to learn.

John 3:16

New International Version (NIV)

16 For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life.

and

Matthew 7:24-29

New International Version (NIV)

The Wise and Foolish Builders

24 “Therefore everyone who hears these words of mine and puts them into practice is like a wise man who built his house on the rock. 25 The rain came down, the streams rose, and the winds blew and beat against that house; yet it did not fall, because it had its foundation on the rock. 26 But everyone who hears these words of mine and does not put them into practice is like a foolish man who built his house on sand. 27 The rain came down, the streams rose, and the winds blew and beat against that house, and it fell with a great crash.”

28 When Jesus had finished saying these things, the crowds were amazed at his teaching, 29 because he taught as one who had authority, and not as their teachers of the law.

about Jesus:

Jesus is the son of  God

Jesus was born of the virgin Mary

Matthew 1:23

New International Version (NIV)

23 “The virgin will conceive and give birth to a son, and they will call him Immanuel”[a] (which means “God with us”).

Jesus was both fully human and fully God

Joseph was Jesus’s father on earth

Jesus was Jewish

Jesus was sent by God his father, to be a messiah(savior) for the world

Jesus was not sent to destroy the law, but rather fulfill it.

Jesus traveled the country side teaching the love of God his father, the wisdom of his father through stories, and parables, through his very life of loving us so much that he gave his life for us.

about the Holy Spirit:

I believe God sent the holy spirit to earth to be with us always after his son ascended into heaven.

I believe it is through the power of God /the holy spirit that when we pray we “feel” the answer to our prayers…even when that answer is no.

Psalm 51:11

New International Version (NIV)

11 Do not cast me from your presence
or take your Holy Spirit from me.

I believe it is through the power of God/ the holy spirit that when we share the gospel story the spirit moves through us and shows in our lives and it is by the holy spirit that we are able to bring others to a better understanding of God

about the Trinity

that the trinity is 3 in 1

God the Father, God the Son, God the Holy Spirit

all 3 God, all together God, all together Holy

about the Eucharist

the bread and body become the body and blood of christ

 

I do not understand how this is possible

but my faith in God, my faith in Jesus, my faith in the holy spirit

tells me I don’t have to understand everything to believe.

about Faith

faith is what we have when we fully believe something to be true

without seeing it

much like air

you can’t see the air

but you know it is there

without air you would not be able to breathe, you heart would stop

I know, I believe, that without God

without Faith in God

my life would not be fulfilled.

Mathew 17:20
He replied, “Because you have so little faith. Truly I tell you, if you have faith as small as a mustard seed, you can say to this mountain, ‘Move from here to there,’ and it will move. Nothing will be impossible for you.”

——–

Let there be no misunderstanding:

I was raised Methodist, and am thankful for the amount of Bible study that was taught to me there over the years

In college I majored in the Comparative Studies of the Worlds Religions, and I am grateful for the eye opening opportunity that major gave into seeing the similarities of the core beliefs of many of the worlds religions.

and

after marrying a Catholic

and

after having children

and

after taking classes about Catholicism

I chose to become Catholic

but first and foremost

I chose to be a Christian,

a Christ follower, though not perfect

a Bible teacher, in an attempt to bring others to know the love of God

 

Mathew 28:19
Therefore go and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit,

a compassionate human being, though compared to Jesus our Christ, our Messiah, I am sorely lacking.

Colossians3:12
Therefore, as God’s chosen people, holy and dearly loved, clothe yourselves with compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness and patience.
So be it. AMEN
About ellasurreau

I am a first grade religious education catechist I have been teaching for 20 years I have a BA in Religious Studies I have continued taking classes in religious studies since graduating. I grew up Methodist, and became catholic after marrying.
This entry was posted in bible, christianity, prayer and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

