Leave what you have and follow me, wait you want me to do what??

In a culture like today

that is so obsessed with

more money

uh no not that….

more possessions

new things

better things

nicer things

How do we bring the focus back to being a disciple of Jesus?

When Jesus walked on this earth the call was literal….

Leave your nets and follow me.

I’ve already written once about saying YES to God

 

but what does it mean to leave what we have….in light of the world we live in

I think we as modern humans

(you’ve got a brain…use it )

need to think more carefully especially as we near lent

about what we spend our money on and why

we need to examine our needs over our wants

Why do we need a 5 bedroom, 3 bathroom house? do we spend so much time working to pay for that house that we end up resenting it? do we spend so much time working for the house that we forget how to make a home?

Why do some think they need a new car every year? We would be better stewards of our time and talent if we drove the car until it made financially more sense to purchase new rather than fix old.

Do you really need a new wardrobe every year?

Are there ways you could make do with less, so others could benefit from they ways God has blessed you?

My personal problem is the coffee shop…do I really need to pay 5 bucks for a coffee when I could make it home for cents.??NO do I like it? uh…yeah….but maybe next time I can order a coffee instead of fancy cappuccino and save the money I saved to put in the collection plate at church.

What are you willing to leave behind so you can follow Christ more closely ?

What are you willing to leave behind so you can more freely give yourself to God?

 

God calls us God calls you

even today

to be

a

disciple of Christ

a Christ follower

the invitation is always there

the door…is always open

open for you to walk through and follow Christ.

Disciples are not couch sitters but rather people who give what they have, of their time, talent and treasure to better serve God and Be an Example of Christ on Earth.

 

Ask the kids how would they feel about giving up something…

leaving their family…like the original disciples did

then….ask them what they can do to be a disciple….help them brainstorm about ways to serve….ways to give, ways to be.

 

About ellasurreau

I am a first grade religious education catechist I have been teaching for 20 years I have a BA in Religious Studies I have continued taking classes in religious studies since graduating. I grew up Methodist, and became catholic after marrying.
This entry was posted in bible, christianity, prayer and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

