were you marked?

Ash Wednesday has come and gone,

and now we are in lent

and should be thinking

(well…really we should be thinking all the time)

but especially in Lent we are in a time of preparation

a time of bringing ourselves closer to God

Does your tradition Mark you with ashes?

In the Catholic tradition as we are marked with ashes the person making the sign of the cross on our heads says:

one of the following I prefer the first:

Turn away from sin and be faithful to the gospel.

or

Remember, you are dust and to dust you will return.

Shouldn’t that be an every day goal? to Turn away from sin and be faithful to the gospel?

Isn’t that something all Christian’s should focus onevery day….not just during lent?

Turn away from sin and be faithful to the gospel.

perhaps this would be a good time to look at the examination of conscious:

the following is from the USCCB

An Examination of Conscience for Children

Responsibilities to God:

Have I prayed every day?

Have I prayed my morning prayers and night prayers?
Have I prayed with my parents and family?
Have I been moody and rebellious about praying and going to church on Sunday?
Have I asked the Holy Spirit to help me whenever I have been tempted to sin?
Have I asked the Holy Spirit to help me do what is right?

Responsibilities to others:

Have I been obedient and respectful to my parents?
Have I lied or been deceitful to them or to others?
Have I been arrogant, stubborn or rebellious?
Have I talked back to parents, teachers or other adults?
Have I pouted and been moody?
Have I been selfish toward my parents, brothers, and sisters,
teachers, or my friends and schoolmates?
Have I gotten angry at them? Have I hit anyone?
Have I held grudges or not forgiven others?
Have I treated other children with respect or have I made fun of them and called them names?
Have I used bad language?
Have I stolen anything? Have I returned it?
Have I performed my responsibilities, such as homework and household chores?
Have I been helpful and affectionate toward my family?
Have I been kind and generous with my friends?

Copyright, Fr. Thomas Weinandy. This resource may be reproduced and distributed free of charge by permission of the author.

another one from the National Catholic Register

Whether we confess our sins through the “Our Father”, in private prayer or before a priest who acts as our intercessor/counselor to us from God.

We as Christians should make frequent examinations of conscious…

it will help us to live life fuller in Christ

when we live our lives, the faith, hope and love of Christ…we are indeed better disciples, better Christians

better ..humans.

About ellasurreau

I am a first grade religious education catechist I have been teaching for 20 years I have a BA in Religious Studies I have continued taking classes in religious studies since graduating. I grew up Methodist, and became catholic after marrying.
This entry was posted in ash wednesday, bible, christianity, death, Lent, prayer and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

