Lent, Music and the Christian’s soul

So I’ve posted much about music lately

but perhaps as an artist/musician that should be expected

Some of the most hauntingly beautiful christian music is heard during Lent.(yes there is beautiful music at Advent, Christmas, Easter and even ordinary time.

but some how the music we hear during lent

really touches the soul

pulls us out of ourselves

while bringing God closer to us

During Lent we are called to be closer to God

come back to our roots

our beliefs

our God.

many churches focus on the Resurrection, the empty cross

but without the crucifixion the empty cross would not  be possible

Jesus.

took on the cross…

our cross

our sin

he bore it…

he bears it

for us still today

Jesus

you died on the cross for us

you will be at the right hand of the Father

your Father

In Heaven

Jesus…Remember me

were you there?

were you there when they crucified my Lord?

were you there when they nailed him to the tree?

were you there when they laid him in the tomb?

Christ we wait for you

Come to us

be our light

and finally bring me Lord to the quiet

help me to find peace with you

help me to find peace in this day

enlighten my soul with your love

Amen

About ellasurreau

I am a first grade religious education catechist I have been teaching for 20 years I have a BA in Religious Studies I have continued taking classes in religious studies since graduating. I grew up Methodist, and became catholic after marrying.
This entry was posted in christianity, Lent, music, prayer and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

