Listening to God, Listening to your class

Yesterday in my first grade religious ed class we talked about listening to God

and then we started to get more in depth about Holy Week.

But for today’s post I’ll talk about listening to God.

and apparently the kids have been paying attention because when I asked them how we can hear God Speak to us

several hands jumped up

and the first answer was

through prayer

and the second answer

when we read the bible

and the third answer

in class

I was really excited…

they get it!

then we did a fun activity

we have a dice in our room and as the kids were getting squirmy and a little touchy feely so we used the dice

kinda similar to this:

and I picked one child to toss the dice then read the prayer

while everyone else listened with hands folded and eyes closed(ok most of them kept their eyes closed)

then that child picked the next child to lead a prayer and so on.

they really got into it!

so I’m thinking for a project I will have each child make their own prayer dice!

and I already found some paper templates online:

here’s a link to one for meal time

here is a picture of one I made:

prayer cube

and here is a template that could be used for your own prayers

I’m hoping this will excite the kids the next time I see them

They will each be going home with their own prayer cube!

OH and how do we listen to God?

Like Elijah, not in the loudness of the world around us

but in the quiet whispers we hear in our heart.

About ellasurreau

I am a first grade religious education catechist I have been teaching for 20 years I have a BA in Religious Studies I have continued taking classes in religious studies since graduating. I grew up Methodist, and became catholic after marrying.
This entry was posted in bible, christianity, prayer and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

