Two Simple Rules: for the classroom…for life.

Be kind.

Be Safe.

 

I’ve seen classroom rules that are pages long

created to cover every situation

when in reality

two rules will do.

Be kind.

Be Safe.

So on the first day of class

we talk about expectations

we talk about what is ok

and

what is not ok

I ask the children

what would some good rules be?

and they say

no running, no hitting, no throwing things,

no making fun of people

etc…

in reality

we are able to ask ourselves two questions

Is what I am doing/about to do /did

safe?

Is what I am doing/about to do/did

kind?

If we answer no to either than what we doing/about to do/did is not ok for my classroom.

2 classroom rules that make it easy for kids to follow the rules

Be Kind

Be Safe

 

About ellasurreau

I am a first grade religious education catechist I have been teaching for 20 years I have a BA in Religious Studies I have continued taking classes in religious studies since graduating. I grew up Methodist, and became catholic after marrying.
This entry was posted in christianity and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

