The Reality and sadness of raising a family in the “2,000’s”

I originally posted this on my “being a mom” page but given that classes are soon to start…..this is the reality many of our students are dealing with….that they no longer live in a home with both of their parents, and often that relationship of having two people unconditionally loving them…simply doesn’t exist.

Me, A Mom

I recently felt the need to escape the house for a few hours…alone…

yes I’m married, mostly stay at home mom(though that phrase is a bit of an oxymoron as in this day few SAHM’s are home much)

yes I’ve never been a single parent, and I don’t pretend to know the struggles they have

but

as a MOM one of many moms I think (even a dad) could appreciate the need to get away once in awhile

so that is the reality

the sadness came when I told the person I ran into(social gathering) when she asked

that the kids were with their dad(and then I clarified by saying my husband….well…technically he’s both)

that is a happy good thing, that

-the kids live with both their biological parents

-the parents are married

but the clarification

that not only is the man I live with my husband, but is also my…

View original post 203 more words

About ellasurreau

I am a first grade religious education catechist I have been teaching for 20 years I have a BA in Religious Studies I have continued taking classes in religious studies since graduating. I grew up Methodist, and became catholic after marrying.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

