The Manger is Empty, Stories in time

I vacillated,should I post this on my religious ed page or on my book review page..

The Manger Is Empty

Stories in Time

by, Walter Wangerin, Jr

belongs here. on this page

and, it should be required reading for all believers of Christianity.

 

I was recently at the local library with my children, it was time to head home

and we descended the stairs

passed the circulation desk

made it through the “alarm” thingies

and then on the “discard” cart not even qualified to make it to their used book sale

I saw the side of a binding that said “The Manger Is…” The rest of the title covered by the call number sticker.

It was one of two books on the usually packed cart.

As a religious Ed teacher I was curious

so I picked it up, this well used book, on a cart to be discarded, it’s barcode blackened by ink and it’s do not steal thingie deactivated

I looked at the cover and thought…”why is this here?”

and then I took it home

and I ask “Why have I not heard of this?”

If for even just 3 of the stories

  1. The Manger is Empty
  2. The Hornbill
  3. The Christmas Story(actually the fourth story in the book)

you should do your best to get your eyes and mind into a copy of this book

the book was published in 1989 but don’t let that scare you, it is written in a way that few books are, but a story teller and a good one at that

Walter Wangerin, Jr of course has a website and you can visit it here

for some reason I can’t figure out this book is not listed on his works page

it should be

I came to this book because it was meant for me to read, recently a good friend died well…two friends died but one was “old” and it was her time and one …was young and though it was her time…her time came to soon

at the same time another friend lost her husband also way too soon, and a great uncle died and he was “old” but the last of his siblings

The manger is Empty

but

so is the cross

death is no more

when Jesus is boss

(my rhyme, so don’t worry the stories in the book are very eloquent, yet down to earth and will give you assurance, there is a God, who works in mysterious ways, and he is ever present in the lives and witness of the people around us.)

About ellasurreau

I am a first grade religious education catechist I have been teaching for 20 years I have a BA in Religious Studies I have continued taking classes in religious studies since graduating. I grew up Methodist, and became catholic after marrying.
This entry was posted in bible, christianity, death, prayer, religious ed teacher and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Manger is Empty, Stories in time

  1. ellasurreau says:

    Reblogged this on Book Reviews and commented:

    should be required reading for all christians

Leave a Reply

