silence in the face of uncertainty

My parish recently began searching for a new Religious Education Director

this would be our third since I’ve been teaching

Though I sat on the interview committees for this one and the previous one

I wondered and still wonder

how our opinions¬†affect other’s thoughts and choices or if other people are so stuck in their thoughts/opinions that they don’t even consider other points

so after stating my reasons for my choice(and there were few to choose from)

I got quiet

not out of arrogance, or anger

I got quiet

and

I gave it to God

there are so many things in this life that are so important

My God, My family, My kids, My 1st graders in religious ed.

After several losses in the last six months or so I don’t have time for petty arguments, or activities that have no foreseeable purpose

Will our new leader do well, or will we regret the decision

that remains to be seen.

But I am called to teach the Gospel, the Bible, the word of God to anyone that will listen….

right now that teaching is geared to 1st graders but in the future…who knows.

and now

silence.

About ellasurreau

I am a first grade religious education catechist I have been teaching for 20 years I have a BA in Religious Studies I have continued taking classes in religious studies since graduating. I grew up Methodist, and became catholic after marrying.
This entry was posted in prayer silence and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

