The Earth Belongs to God

Psalm 24:1New International Version (NIV)

Psalm 24

Of David. A psalm.

The earth is the Lord’s, and everything in it,
    the world, and all who live in it;

As summer is winding down, and thoughts return to teaching a new batch of kids in religious ed  I find myself looking at the random verse that came to me on:

Your Daily Psalm

How fitting, I don’t think I’ve used this passage before when teaching creation.

But this year I just might.

Typically the lesson on God’s creation focuses on Genesis and the well remembered 7 days of creation

followed by talks of what we can do to care for God’s Creation.

Even our Pope, Pope Francis is very much in the promotion of caring for God’s creation

“I exhort everyone to see the world through the eyes of God the Creator: the earth is an environment to be safeguarded, a garden to be cultivated,” he said.

When we pull from various bible verses and church leaders

We can see that caring for God’s Creation (people, land, animals, and all things God created) should be first and foremost on our minds

Is what we do compatible with the idea of caring for God’s creation

and from Hebrews we read:

Hebrews 4:13New International Version (NIV)

13 Nothing in all creation is hidden from God’s sight. Everything is uncovered and laid bare before the eyes of him to whom we must give account.

For Further reading check into the United States Council of Catholic Bishops for their environment/ecology resource

you can find that here:

Caring for God’s Creation

St Francis also has a prayer for all creatures

read the canticle

I bring up St. Francis because for the last few years now he has been our “class” Saint.

and ties in very well to caring for all of God’s creation.

Peace

About ellasurreau

I am a first grade religious education catechist I have been teaching for 20 years I have a BA in Religious Studies I have continued taking classes in religious studies since graduating. I grew up Methodist, and became catholic after marrying.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

